Flexible organic electronics

The strengths of the Fraunhofer FEP Flexible Organic Electronics business unit are technological innovation and innovative product development through use of numerous processes and facilities as well as a dedicated clean room. Various coating technologies are available, such as vacuum vaporization of organic and inorganic materials, atomic layer deposition (ALD) along with printing and laminating processes as well as laser ablation. Many of these processes can be carried out without breaking vacuum, as well as in combination with inert atmospheres. The precursor and deposition technologies are supplemented by powerful measurement and characterization facilities optimized for the electrical and optical analysis of OLEDs, organic solar cells, and photodiodes.

Development work for flexible OLED modules takes place using individual arched substrates as well as on rolls of materials (roll-to-roll processing). Processing of rigid substrates such as glass or metal plate is likewise available.

The business unit offers its clients the development of processes and technologies for efficient and cost-effective fabrication of innovative OLED lighting solutions. Typical jobs involve client-specific layout and fabrication of OLED demonstration samples for investigating new fields of application, stacked-layer development and efficiency increases for OLEDs, as well as evaluation of barrier films and other materials for flexible OLEDs.

Our Services

Fraunhofer FEP offers comprehensive expertise covering fabrication and processing of flexible substrates using organic electronics along the entire value-added chain.

  • Marketing and feasibility studies, advice, and training
  • Conceptualization and planning of an R&D project complete with PM work packages, milestones, and costing
  • Process and technology development of OLED illumination on both rigid and flexible substrates
  • Substrate structuring with client-specific layouts
  • Vacuum coating
  • Wet and hybrid processes
  • Encapsulation
  • Characterization
  • Application integration and control using client-specific layouts
  • Demonstrator development and fabrication
  • Pilot fab availability for small runs
  • Process transfers to other fabrication firms
  • Licensing

This development work is augmented and supported by:

  • Acquisition and coordination of projects funded by the state and federal governments as well as by the European Union
  • Economic viability studies

Applications

 

Light

Flexibility of lighting is the vision that fires up imagination of designers and architects. Flexible, personalized, ready to install lighting solutions would allow us to change spaces in buildings, cars and other means of transportation.

 

Smart building and
architecture

In architecture the coating of flat glass with energy-efficient layers for low-energy homes or for renovation of historical buildings is growing in importance. Developments at the Fraunhofer FEP on transparent heat-reflection, sun protection, and diffusion barrier layers on flat glas and flexible polymer substrates ...

 

Transport

Today’s cars reflect our individual preferences. A variety of functions can be implemented through thin-films technologies in optics, lighting and interior as well as through novel systems for connected mobility.
 

Solar energy

Solar energy is converted into heat and electrical energy using solar heating systems and photovoltaic systems, respectively. To develop these technologies further, more efficient systems and low cost manufacturing processes are required.
 

Packaging

The packaging sector is under enormous cost pressure: Packaging materials must not be too costly, but are enormously important for the quality and storage life of the end products. The technologies of the Fraunhofer FEP in the area of vacuum coating and surface modification with electrons are ideal for this task due to their high productivity and the excellent surface properties that can be achieved.
 

Medical applications

The growth in the medical technology sector is being accompanied by a great variety of innovations. The development of new products and medical equipment is often based on sophisticated starting materials.

 

Displays and
Wearables

Displays in consumer and professional applications are getting more and more sophisticated. Smart phones, wearables or TVs are equipped with numerous functions to interactively reflect and capture the world.

OLEDs on rigid or flexible substrates

◾Color control
◾Transparent
◾Structured
◾Dynamic optical output

on

◾Glass
◾Textiles
◾Plastic films
◾Metallic foils
◾Flexible thin glass, and much more

such as for

Backup lights and automobile interiors
◾Display components in packaging, automotive applications, and wearables
Designer applications
◾Lighting
Micro-scale features for visual displays
Medical and therapeutic applications
Flexible solar-cell modules
◾Transparent solar cells

Technologies

 

Technologies for organic electronics

The strength of Fraunhofer FEP is the availability of numerous processes and equipment as well as clean rooms that enable process development and innovation through combination of methods and processes. Fraunhofer FEP can access various coating technologies, as vacuum evaporation of organic and inorganic material, atomic layer deposition (ALD), print and lamination methods as well as laser ablation.

 

flex+

In the BMBF-funded flex+ Project Fraunhofer FEP has pioneered new paths in the design and development of flexible organic electronics, as well as charting the way for new applications and markets.

 

Technology transfer

  • technology transfer and introduction of the process into production
  • technology transfer including fitting plants with key components
    (also retro-fit of existing plants)
  • scale up of processes and technologies for industrial plants
 

Video

OLED – Light from small molecules

Several pilot and research fabrication lines are available in the 300 m² class-10 clean room for R&D as well as for pilot-scale production of organic light-emitting diodes and solar cells. We develop for you the best-possible application and technology according to your requirements. A selection of our equipment:

Projects

Project name Description
Pi-SCALE Shaping the future in OLED lighting
Hi-LED Human-centric Intelligent LED engines for the take up of SSL in Europe
GLADIATOR Graphene Layers: Production, Characterization and Integration
R2D2 Roll to Device 2
Flex+ Open Innovation Platform
TREASORES Transparent Electrodes for Large Area, Large Scale Production of Organic Optoelectronic Devices
LOIGB LED and OLED integration into glass and plastic composites for the use in lighting systems for railway and further applications
O-BUTTON Wearable modular device
bioElektron Biodegradable electronics for active implants

Press





More information





Contact persons

Christian May

Contact Press / Media

Dr. Christian May

Division Director Flexible Organic Elektronics and Head of department R2R Organic technologies

Fraunhofer FEP
Maria-Reiche-Str. 2
01109 Dresden

Phone +49 351 8823-309

Fax +49 351 8823-394

Claudia Keibler-Willner

Contact Press / Media

Dipl.-Ing. Claudia Keibler-Willner

Head of department S2S Organic technologies

Fraunhofer FEP
Maria-Reiche-Str. 2
01109 Dresden

Phone +49 351 8823-235

Flexible Organische Elektronik

Technologische Innovationen, Produktentwicklungen und -innovationen auf Basis zahlreicher Prozesse und Anlagen sowie eines Reinraums sind die Stärke des Geschäftsfeldes „Flexible Organische Elektronik“. Es stehen verschiedene Beschichtungstechnologien, wie die Vakuumverdampfung von Organischen und anorganischen Materialien, die Atomic-Layer-Deposition (ALD), genauso wie Druck- und Laminationsverfahren sowie Laserablation zur Verfügung. Viele dieser Prozesse können ohne Vakuumbruch oder unter Inertbedingungen durchgeführt und kombiniert werden. Flankiert werden die präparativen Technologien durch leistungsfähige Mess- und Charakterisierungseinrichtungen, die auf die elektrische und optische Analyse von OLED, Organischen Solarzellen und Photodioden optimiert sind.

Die Entwicklung für flexible OLED-Module findet sowohl auf Einzelsubstraten (Bögen) als auch Rollenware (Rolle-zu-Rolle) statt. Eine Prozessierung auf starren Substraten, wie Glas oder Metallplatten, ist ebenfalls möglich.

Das Geschäftsfeld bietet seinen Kunden die Entwicklung von Prozessen und Technologien zur effektiven Herstellung innovativer OLED-Beleuchtungslösungen. Typische Aufgaben betreffen u. a. das kundenspezifische Layout und Herstellung von OLED-Demonstratoren zur Erschließung neuer Anwendungsfelder, Schichtstapel-Entwicklung und Effizienzsteigerung für OLED sowie Evaluierung von Barrierefolien und anderen Materialien für flexible OLED.

Unser Angebot

Das Fraunhofer FEP bietet umfassende Kompetenzen hinsichtlich der Herstellung und Bearbeitung von flexiblen Substraten mit Organischer Elektronik entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette:

  • Markt- und Machbarkeitsstudien, Beratung, Schulung
  • Konzipierung eines F&E-Projektes mit Arbeitspaketen, Meilensteinen, Kosten
  • Prozess- und Technologieentwicklung von OLED-Beleuchtung auf starren und flexiblen Substraten
  • Substratstrukturierung, kundenspezifische Layouts
  • Vakuumbeschichtung
  • Nass-hybride Prozesse
  • Verkapselung
  • Charakterisierung
  • Applikationsintegration und Ansteuerung
  • Kundenspezifische Layouts
  • Demonstratorentwicklung und -fertigung
  • Pilotfertigungsmöglichkeiten für kleine Serien bzw. Prozesstransfer zu anderen Fertigungsfirmen
  • Lizenzierung

Diese Entwicklungsarbeiten werden ergänzt und unterstützt durch:

  • Akquisition und Koordination von geförderten Projekten des Landes, des Bundes und der Europäischen Union
  • Wirtschaftlichkeitsbetrachtungen

Anwendungen

 

Licht

Flexibilität der Beleuchtung ist die Vision die die Fantasie von vielen Designern und Architekten beflügelt. Flexible, personalisierte, einbaufertige Beleuchtungslösungen würden uns erlauben die Räumlichkeiten in Gebäuden, Autos und anderen Transportmitteln zu verändern.

 

Smart-Building und
Architektur

Transparente Wärmereflexions-, Sonnenschutz- und Diffusionsbarriere-Schichten auf Flachglas und flexiblen Kunststoffsubstraten bilden die Basis für energieeffiziente Gebäude. Optimierter Sonnenschutz und energieeffiziente Beleuchtung sind die Hauptmerkmale der modernen Architektur.

 

Transport

Heutige Autos spiegeln unsere individuellen Vorlieben wider. Eine Vielzahl von Funktionalitäten in der Optik, Beleuchtung und im Innenraum kann mit Dünnschichttechnologien und mit neuartigen Systemen für vernetzte Mobilität umgesetzt werden.

 

Solarenergie

Sonnenenergie in Wärme oder elektrische Energie umzuwandeln gelingt mithilfe der Solarthermie bzw. der Photovoltaik. Für einen verstärkten Ausbau dieser Technologien werden effizientere Systeme und kostengünstige Herstellungsprozesse benötigt.
 

Verpackung

Der Verpackungssektor unterliegt einem enormen Kostendruck: Verpackungsmaterial darf meist nicht viel kosten, trägt jedoch große Verantwortung für die Qualität und die Haltbarkeit des Endproduktes. Technologien zur Vakuumbeschichtung und Oberflächenmodifikation mit Elektronen des Fraunhofer FEP sind aufgrund ihrer hohen Produktivität...
 

Medizinische
Applikationen

Das Wachstum des Medizintechnik-Sektors wird von einer Vielzahl an Innovationen begleitet. Die Entwicklung neuer Produkte und Medizingeräte basiert häufig auf ausgefeilten Ausgangsmaterialien.

 

Displays und
Wearables

Displays in Endverbraucher- und professionellen Anwendungen werden immer anspruchsvoller. Smartphones, Wearables oder TV sind mit zahlreichen Funktionen ausgestattet um interaktiv die Welt zu erfassen und zu reflektieren.

Technologien

 

Technologien für
organische Elektronik

Die große Stärke des Fraunhofer FEP ist die Verfügbarkeit zahlreicher Prozesse und Anlagen sowie eines Reinraums, wodurch Produktentwicklungen und -innovationen durch Kombination der Verfahren und Prozesse ermöglicht werden. Es stehen verschiedene Beschichtungsmöglichkeiten, wie die Vakuumverdampfung von organischen und anorganischen Materialien, die Atomic Layer Deposition (ALD), genauso wie Druck- und Laminationsverfahren sowie Laser-Ablation, zur Verfügung.

 

flex+

Im BMBF-geförderten Projekt flex+ wurde ein Gesamtkonzept zur erfolgreichen Entwicklung und Produktion flexibler Elektronik entwickelt. Über die Open-Innovation-Plattform können sich Partner und Interessierte vernetzen, um neue Anwendungen und Märkte zu erschließen.

 

Technologietransfer

  • Technologietransfer und Inbetriebnahme der Prozesse in der Produktion
  • Technologietransfer einschließlich Ausstattung von Anlagen mit Schlüsselkomponenten (auch Retro-fit bestehender Anlagen)
  • Aufskalierung von Prozessen und Technologien für Industrieanlagen
 

Video

OLED Licht aus kleinen Molekülen

Zur Forschung und Entwicklung sowie Pilotproduktion von Organischen Leuchtdioden und Solarzellen stehen am Fraunhofer FEP mehrere Pilot- und Forschungslinien auf 300 m² Reinraum der Klasse 10 zur Verfügung. Je nach Anforderung entwickeln wir für Sie die optimale Applikation und Technologie. Ein Auszug aus unserer Ausstattung:

Projekte

Projektname Beschreibung
Pi-SCALE Shaping the future in OLED lighting
Hi-LED Human-centric Intelligent LED engines for the take up of SSL in Europe
GLADIATOR Graphene Layers: Production, Characterization and Integration
R2D2 Roll to Device 2
Flex+ Open Innovation Platform
TREASORES Transparent Electrodes for Large Area, Large Scale Production of Organic Optoelectronic Devices
LOIGB LED- und OLED-Integration in Glas- und Kunststoffverbünden zum Einsatz in Beleuchtungssystemen elektrischer Bahnen und anderen Anwendungen
O-BUTTON Wearable modular device
bioElektron Biodegradierbare Elektronik für aktive Implantate

Presse





Weitere Informationen





Ansprechpartner

Christian May

Contact Press / Media

Dr. Christian May

Bereichsleiter Flexible Organische Elektronik

Fraunhofer FEP
Maria-Reiche-Str. 2
01109 Dresden

Telefon +49 351 8823-309

Fax +49 351 8823-394

Claudia Keibler-Willner

Contact Press / Media

Dipl.-Ing. Claudia Keibler-Willner

Abteilungsleiterin S2S Organik-Technologie

Fraunhofer FEP
Maria-Reiche-Str. 2
01109 Dresden

Telefon +49 351 8823-235

Stefan Mogck

Contact Press / Media

Dr. Stefan Mogck

Abteilungsleiter R2R Organik-Technologie

Fraunhofer FEP
Winterbergstraße 28
01277 Dresden

Telefon +49 351 2586-172