Dresden Congress Award

Fraunhofer FEP one of the finalists at Dresden Congress Award 2018 for its SID-ME 2017 international conference “Wearable and Projection Displays”

 

Beginning in 2004, the Dresden Congress Award has honored committed scientists, entrepreneurs, and congress organizers who have brought congresses and conferences to Dresden, the Saxony state capital, and successfully organized them. The award is a symbol of intellectual exchange, of communication in the sciences and research, and of striving for social and technical progress. This year, the scientists of the Fraunhofer Institute for Organic Electronics, Electron Beam and Plasma Technology FEP are honored to be a finalist in the category "Focus Dresden” for hosting the SID-ME "Wearable and Projection Displays" international conference in Dresden in 2017.

The Saxony state capital, as a "Smart City" and home to the Excellence University TU Dresden, hosts top-class scientific conferences. Cutting-edge research is an important driving force for the city, known as a leading location for innovation. This is recognized by the unique bi-annual Dresden Congress Award. Its bronze sculpture symbolizes the bridge between the sciences, commerce, and the city promoted by these congresses.

With their research and development of OLED microdisplays, among other areas, the scientists of the Fraunhofer FEP in Dresden work on building this bridge through their daily activities, especially between application-oriented research and industry. The Fraunhofer FEP has achieved outstanding research results in the field of OLED microdisplays and sensors for a wide variety of applications over a period of more than 10 years. These have led to numerous collaborations and technology transfers to industry.

Last year, the Fraunhofer FEP was awarded the contract for the SID Mid-Europe (SID-ME) Spring Meeting 2017 a second time, with the focus on "Wearable and Projection Displays". The conference as well as the keynote speakers, lectures, and presentations by 20 internationally renowned speakers, including Microsoft, Siemens, Kopin Corp., Osram, the Technische Universität Dresden, and the University of Cambridge, attracted more than 100 participants from 18 countries worldwide to the Saxony state capital.

Dr. Uwe Vogel, head of the Microdisplays and Sensors division at Fraunhofer FEP, explains: “The highlights of the events were top-class keynote speakers such as Bernard Kress from Microsoft as well as other invited speakers from the industry, such as from LG, Samsung, and MICROOLED from France. In addition, the two-day program with its technologically outstanding lectures (selected by the program committee comprising representatives of additional companies and universities such as Intel, Sony, Zeiss, and the University of Edinburgh) was complemented by a busy exhibition, poster session, and an accompanying program of two different scientific tours to the two Fraunhofer FEP locations in Dresden North and the Institute headquarters at Winterbergstraße.”

The conference was rounded out by the involvement of additional partners in Dresden. At the evening event in Dresden's historic city center, the participants had the opportunity to admire its splendour from the roof terrace of the baroque Zwinger Palace accompanied by a laser show, and exchange ideas in a relaxed atmosphere.

This commitment shown by the Fraunhofer FEP over the course of the SID-ME international conference is now being recognized with the Congress Dresden Award in the category "Focus Dresden". Dr. Uwe Vogel accepted the award on behalf of all Fraunhofer FEP scientists on November 15, 2018.

As the recipient of the Dresden Congress Award, the Fraunhofer FEP will continue its efforts in the coming years to organize and conduct meetings and conferences. Initial discussions have already taken place.

SID-ME 2017 "Wearables and Projection Displays" Conference with accompanying exhibition.

SID-ME 2017 "Wearables and Projection Displays" Conference with accompanying exhibition.

Evening event in Dresden's historic city center with laser show at the baroque Zwinger Palace.

© Dresden Marketing

Dresden Congress Award

Fraunhofer FEP mit internationaler Konferenz SID-ME 2017 „Wearable and Projection Displays“ Preisträger beim Dresden Congress Award 2018

 

Seit 2004 werden mit dem Dresden Congress Award engagierte Wissenschaftler, Unternehmer und Kongressveranstalter gewürdigt, die Kongresse und Tagungen in die sächsische Landeshauptstadt geholt und erfolgreich veranstaltet haben. Die Auszeichnung ist ein Symbol des geistigen Austauschs, der Kommunikation in Wissenschaft und Forschung und des Strebens nach gesellschaftlichem und technischem Fortschritt. Dieses Jahr dürfen sich die Wissenschaftler des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Organische Elektronik, Elektronenstrahl- und Plasmatechnik FEP über den 3. Platz in der Kategorie „Fokus Dresden“ freuen, die die internationale Konferenz SID-ME „Wearable and Projection Displays“ im Jahr 2017 in Dresden erfolgreich ausrichteten.

Die sächsische Landeshauptstadt als „Smart City“ und Sitz der Exzellenz-Universität TU Dresden hat hochkarätige wissenschaftliche Tagungen zu Gast. Die Spitzenforschung ist ein wichtiger Impulsgeber für den Innovationsstandort. Dies würdigt der alle zwei Jahre vergebene und in dieser Form einmalige Dresden Congress Award. Seine Bronze-
skulptur symbolisiert den durch Kongresse initiierten Brückenschlag zwischen Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Stadt.

Mit ihrer Forschung und Entwicklung u.a. von OLED-Mikrodisplays arbeiten die Wissenschaftler des Fraunhofer FEP in Dresden in ihrer täglichen Arbeit an diesem Brückenschlag, speziell zwischen anwendungsorientierter Forschung und Industrie. Seit über 10 Jahren sind die Forschungsleistungen des Fraunhofer FEP auf dem Gebiet der OLED Mikrodisplays und Sensoren für verschiedenste Anwendungen herausragend und brachten bereits eine Vielzahl an Kooperationen und Transfers in die Industrie hervor.

Im letzten Jahr erhielt das Fraunhofer FEP zum zweiten Mal den Zuschlag für das SID Mid-Europe (SID-ME) Frühjahrstreffen 2017 mit dem Schwerpunkt "Wearable and Projection Displays". Die Konferenz sowie die angekündigten Keynotes, Vorträge und Präsentationen von 20 international renommierten Referenten, unter anderem von Microsoft, Siemens, Kopin, Osram, der Technischen Universität Dresden und der University of Cambridge zogen mehr als 100 Teilnehmer aus 18 Ländern weltweit in die sächsische Landeshauptstadt.

Dr. Uwe Vogel, Leiter des Bereichs Mikrodisplays und Sensorik am Fraunhofer FEP erklärt dazu: „Die Highlights der Veranstaltungen waren zum einen die hochkarätigen Keynote Speaker wie Bernard Kress von Microsoft sowie weitere eingeladene Referenten der Branche, z. B. LG, Samsung, oder MICROOLED aus Frankreich. Zum anderen wurde das zweitägige Programm mit fachlich herausragenden Vorträgen (im Programm-Komitee ausgewählt durch Vertreter weiterer Firmen und Universitäten wie Intel, Sony, Zeiss, University of Edinburgh) ergänzt durch eine rege besuchte Ausstellung, Postersession und ein Rahmenprogramm in Form zweier verschiedener Scientific Tours an die beiden Fraunhofer FEP Standorte in Dresden-Nord und dem Institutszentrum Winterbergstraße.“

Abgerundet wurde die Konferenz durch die Einbindung weiterer Partner in der Stadt Dresden. Beim Abendevent konnten die Teilnehmer in Dresdens historischem Stadtzentrum von der Dachterrasse den Zwinger in seinem Glanz mit inszenierter Lasershow bewundern und sich in entspannter Atmosphäre austauschen.

Dieser Einsatz des Fraunhofer FEP im Zuge der internationalen Konferenz SID-ME wird nun mit dem 3. Platz des Dresden Congress Award in der Kategorie „Fokus Dresden“ belohnt. Stellvertretend für alle Wissenschaftler des Fraunhofer FEP nahm Dr. Uwe Vogel die Auszeichnung am 15. November entgegen.

Als Finalist beim Dresden Congress Award wird sich das Fraunhofer FEP auch in den kommenden Jahren weiterhin um die Veranstaltung und Durchführung künftiger Tagungen und Konferenzen bemühen. Erste Gespräche dazu haben bereits stattgefunden.

Konferenz SID-ME 2017 „Wearables and Projection Displays“ mit begleitender Ausstellung

Konferenz SID-ME 2017 „Wearables and Projection Displays“ mit begleitender Ausstellung

Abendevent im Dresdner historischen Stadtzentrum mit Laserinszenierung am Zwinger

© Dresden Marketing