Core competencies / Service

Core competencies

The process and application development work of the institute is based on 6 core technologies that utilize electron beams and plasmas. These 6 core technologies are being continuously advanced and are utilized by a range of industries. The scaling up of these technologies for coating and processing large surfaces at high rates is a key aspect of our development work. Our know-how and our own resources for process and hardware development allow us to turn innovation directly into practical solutions.

 

Electron beam
technologies

We utilize thermal, chemical, and biological effects of accelerated electrons in the energy range of 10-300 keV for industrial-oriented technological and engineering development, as well as developing tailored electron-beam sources.

 

Roll-to-roll technology

We develop high-throughput industrial roll-to-roll technologies for innovative applications of flexible materials.

 

Plasma-activated large-area and precision coating

We develop plasma-activated coating processes for industrial-scale manufacturing as well as economical and high-quality large-area coating based on PVD and PECVD processes. We offer suitable cleaning processes and plasma pre-treatment

 

 

Organic electronics

We offer technology and process development for organic electronic components on our pilot production lines, from layout development to encapsulation and component integration for OLEDs, microdisplays, and sensors.

 

IC design

The core expertise in the Integrated Circuits division includes the design of microelectronic circuits and components at Fraunhofer FEP with application- and customer-specific adaptations of the silicon circuit foundries CMOS processes in order to carry out subsequent additional processing of these circuits at wafer level, such as in-house OLED coating for microdisplays or optoelectronic sensors.

 

Technological
key components

We develop, manufacture, and integrate industrial electron-beam, coating, and plasma sources as well as specific supply, control, and regulation technology. We offer sample coatings and substrate treatments, technology transfer, commissioning, and customer support.

 

Service

 

Materials analysis

The department materials analysis at Fraunhofer FEP has versatile methods for characterization of thin films and surfaces.

 

Equipment

The institute is equipped with several pilot plants for large-area coating in batch, in-line or roll-to-roll processes as well as with electron beam equipment for the efficient modification of surfaces.

Kernkompetenzen / Leistungsangebot

Kernkompetenzen

Die Prozess- und Anwendungsentwicklungen des Institutes stützen sich auf sechs Kernkompetenzen, die Elektronenstrahlen und Plasmen nutzen. Diese sechs Kerntechnologien werden fortlaufend weiterentwickelt und für verschiedenste Industriezweige und Anwendungen nutzbar gemacht. Die Aufskalierung für die Beschichtung und Bearbeitung großer Flächen mit hohen Raten ist ein wichtiger Schwerpunkt unserer Entwicklungsarbeiten. Durch entsprechendes Know-how und institutseigene Ressourcen in der Prozess- und Hardwareentwicklung können wir unsere Innovationen direkt in die Praxis umsetzen.

 

Elektronenstrahl-Technologien

Wir nutzen die thermischen, chemischen und biologischen Wirkungen beschleunigter Elektronen (Energiebereich 10 bis 300 keV) für industrietaugliche, technologische und technische Entwicklungen sowie die Entwicklung spezieller Elektronenstrahl-Quellen.

 

Rolle-zu-Rolle-Technologie

Wir entwickeln produktive industrietaugliche Rolle-zu-Rolle-Technologien für innovative Anwendungen flexibler Materialien.

 

Plasmagestützte Großflächen- und
Präzisionsbeschichtung

Wir entwickeln plasmagestützte Beschichtungsverfahren für die industrielle Produktion sowie die wirtschaftliche und qualitativ hochwertige Großflächenbeschichtung basierend auf PVD- und PECVD-Verfahren. Dazu bieten wir passende Reinigungsverfahren und Plasmavorbehandlungen an.

 

 

Organische Elektronik

Wir bieten Technologie- und Prozessentwicklung für organische elektronische Bauelemente auf unseren Pilotfertigungslinien von der Layoutentwicklung bis zur Verkapselung und Baugruppenintegration für OLED, Mikrodisplays und Sensorik an.

 

IC-Design

Die Kernkompetenz „Integrierte Schaltungen“ umfasst den Entwurf mikroelektronischer Schaltungen und Bauelemente mit anwendungs- und kundenspezifischen Adaptionen der CMOS-Prozesse beim Waferhersteller, um diese Wafer anschließend einer Weiterverarbeitung z. B. der OLED-Beschichtung für Mikrodisplays oder optoelektronische Sensoren bei uns zuzuführen.

 

Technologische
Schlüsselkomponenten

Wir entwickeln, fertigen und integrieren industrietaugliche Elektronenstrahl-, Beschichtungs- und Plasmaquellen sowie spezifische Versorgungs-, Steuerungs- und Regelungstechnik. Dazu bieten wir Musterbeschichtungen und Substratbehandlungen, Technologieüberführung, Inbetriebnahme und Kundenbetreuung an.

 

Leistungsangebot

 

Werkstoffkunde /
Analytik

Die Abteilung Werkstoffkunde / Analytik am Fraunhofer FEP verfügt über vielfältige Methoden zur Charakterisierung von dünnen Schichten und Oberflächen.

 

Anlagentechnik

Das Institut verfügt über zahlreiche industrienahe Anlagen zur Beschichtung großer Flächen in Batch-Anlagen, in-line oder im Rolle-zu-Rolle Verfahren sowie über Elektronenstrahl-Anlagen zur effizienten Bearbeitung von Oberflächen.