Research
against Corona
at Fraunhofer FEP

Research vs Corona

INNO4COV-19 – Boosting Innovations for COVID-19 Diagnostic, Prevention and Surveillance

The €6.1 million project INNO4COV-19 is committed to supporting the commercialization of new products across Europe for combatting COVID-19. Looking for the fast development of products – from medical technologies to surveillance solutions - the project will boost innovation to tackle the new coronavirus, reinforcing Europe's technological leadership, and invigorating an industrial sector capable of protecting citizens' safety and well-being.

Fraunhofer FEP will contribute its roll-to-roll plant technology and electron beam technologies for the sterilization of textile materials on large surfaces to the project. Another topic of Fraunhofer FEP within INNO4COV-19 deals with the earliest possible detection of infected persons using OLED microdisplay technology.

MobDi – Mobile disinfection

In the "Mobile Disinfection" (MobDi) project, new hardware and software solutions for mobile service robots are being developed. On the one hand, these should make it possible to disinfect potentially contaminated surfaces in buildings and means of transportation as needed and gently with a robot. On the other hand, the developments in the project should help to automate the transport of materials in clinics and thus counteract the spread of germs by staff.

In the joint project of various Fraunhofer institutes, Fraunhofer FEP is conducting the first fundamental studies to identify the degree of contamination and the cause of contamination of surfaces. In addition, our researchers are evaluating the disinfection success based on contamination with bacteria samples.

NGST – Next Generation Protective Textiles

© Fraunhofer FEP

The Next Generation Protective Textiles initiative provides an approach for the production of improved, high-quality protective textiles. This includes qualified selection of base materials, upscaling studies to set the stage for rapid expansion of production capacity, development of novel antiviral coatings, and comprehensive biological and materials science analytics to verify improved properties and also open up new methods of quality control.

As part of the project, Fraunhofer FEP is testing and evaluating textile functionalization by means of inactivation of infectious or contaminated material through functionalization with humic substances with an antiviral effect. In addition, functionalized filter fleeces are refined at Fraunhofer FEP using various surface treatment processes and these are then mounted on a demonstrator (protective mask).

Forschungsarbeiten
am Fraunhofer FEP
gegen Corona

Forschung gegen Corona

INNO4COV-19 – Förderung von Innovationen zur COVID-19 Diagnose, Prävention und Überwachung

Im Rahmen des 6,1 Millionen Euro-Projekts INNO4COV-19 soll die Kommerzialisierung neuer Produkte zur Bekämpfung von COVID-19 in ganz Europa unterstützt werden. Auf der Suche nach einer raschen Entwicklung von Produkten – angefangen bei Medizintechnologien bis hin zu Überwachungslösungen - wird das Projekt Innovationen zur Bekämpfung des neuen Coronavirus fördern, die Technologieführerschaft Europas und die Industrie stärken, um die Sicherheit und das Wohl der Bürger zu schützen.

Das Fraunhofer FEP wird seine Rolle-zu-Rolle Anlagentechnik und Elektronenstrahltechnologien für die Sterilisation von Textilmaterialien auf großen Flächen in das Projekt einbringen. Ein weiteres Thema des Fraunhofer FEP im Rahmen von INNO4COV-19 befasst sich mit der frühestmöglichen Erkennung von infizierten Personen mittels OLED-Mikrodisplay-Technologie.

MobDi – Mobile Desinfektion

Im Projekt »Mobile Desinfektion« (MobDi) werden neue Hardware- und Software-Lösungen für mobile Serviceroboter entwickelt. Diese sollen es einerseits ermöglichen, potenziell kontaminierte Oberflächen in Gebäuden und Verkehrsmitteln bedarfsgerecht und schonend mit einem Roboter zu desinfizieren. Andererseits sollen die Entwicklungen im Projekt dazu beitragen, den Materialtransport in Kliniken zu automatisieren und damit einer Keimverschleppung durch das Personal entgegenzuwirken.

In dem Gemeinschaftsprojekt verschiedener Fraunhofer-Institute führt das Fraunhofer FEP erste grundlegende Untersuchungen zur Erkennung des Verschmutzungsgrades und der Verschmutzungsursache von Oberflächen durch. Außerdem werten unsere Forscher anhand von Verunreinigungen mit Bakterienproben den Desinfektionserfolg aus.

NGST – Next Generation Schutz-Textilien

© Fraunhofer FEP

Die Initiative Next Generation Schutz-Textilien bietet einen Ansatz für die Produktion verbesserter, qualitativ hochwertiger Schutztextilien. Dies umfasst eine qualifizierte Auswahl der Grundmaterialien, Untersuchungen zur Hochskalierung, um die Voraussetzungen für eine rasche Ausweitung von Produktionskapazitäten zu schaffen, die Entwicklung neuartiger antiviraler Beschichtungen, sowie eine umfassende biologische und materialwissenschaftliche Analytik, die zur Verifizierung der verbesserten Eigenschaften dient und zudem neue Methoden der Qualitätskontrolle erschließt.

Im Rahmen des Projekts testet und bewertet das Fraunhofer FEP die Textilfunktionalisierung mittels einer Inaktivierung von infektiösem oder kontaminiertem Material durch eine Funktionalisierung mit antiviral wirkenden Huminstoffen. Darüber hinaus werden funktionalisierte Filter-Vliese am Fraunhofer FEP mit Hilfe von unterschiedlichen Oberflächenbehandlungsverfahren veredelt und diese dann an einem Demonstrator (Schutzmaske) montiert.