Mechanical engineering

Surface modification for mechanical engineering at the Fraunhofer FEP

Optimized surfaces are the basis for a lot of innovation in the machine building sector. Layers that make products and components resistant to corrosion, wear, and scratching have enormous commercial importance. Indeed, the damage caused by corrosion alone amounts to billions annually. Layers having reduced friction also make a significant contribution to lowering energy and material consumption.

Using sputtering technology, plasma-activated high-rate deposition and high-rate PECVD, Fraunhofer FEP develops highly efficient vacuum processes and technologies to clean surfaces and components and to improve their properties via deposition of a wide variety of layers and layer systems. Together with the Fraunhofer Cleaning Technologie Alliance we offer a broad portfolio of surface cleaning technologies.

We use electron beams as a versatile tool to weld components, cure surfaces, or customize properties. The scaling up of processes under near-industrial production conditions is a key aspect of our work.

PVD coatings

  • corrosion protection layers and hard material layers for automotive industry
  • corrosion protection layers for rivet elements for hybrid construction in the car manufacturing and rail vehicle manufacturing industries
  • thermal barrier layers for turbine blades
  • sun protection films for car glass
  • low-friction and abrasion-resistant hard material layers for engine components
  • blue mirrors for external automobile glass

Electron beam modification

  • electron beam welding of gearwheels, turbocharger shafts, housing assemblies, etc. (Strahltechnologie Dresden GmbH)
  • electron beam curing of coatings, cam shafts, gear assemblies
  • electron beam modification of plastics

Cleaning

  • plasma pre-treatment
  • wet-chemical cleaning
  • consultancy on cleaning of components

Maschinenbau

Optimierte Oberflächen sind besonders im Maschinenbau die Basis vieler Innovationen. Schichten, die Produkte und Bauteile beständig gegen Korrosion, Verschleiß und Kratzer machen, sind von enormer wirtschaftlicher Bedeutung: So liegen allein die Schäden durch Korrosion weltweit jährlich in Milliardenhöhe. Auch reibungsmindernde Schichten tragen in beträchtlichem Maße zu einer Senkung des Energie- und Materialverbrauches bei.

Am Fraunhofer FEP entwickeln wir hochproduktive Vakuumprozesse und -technologien, um ebene Oberflächen und Bauteile zu reinigen und ihre Eigenschaften durch Aufbringen unterschiedlichster Schichten und Schichtsystemen zu verbessern: Mittels Sputtertechnologie, plasmaaktivierter Hochratebedampfung und der Hochrate-PECVD bringen wir Funktionsschichten effizient auf. Gemeinsam mit der Allianz Reinigungstechnik können wir Ihnen zudem ein umfangreiches Portfolio an Reinigungstechnologien anbieten.

Den Elektronenstrahl nutzen wir als vielseitiges Werkzeug, um Bauteile zu schweißen, Oberflächen zu härten oder in ihren Eigenschaften gezielt zu verändern. Die Aufskalierung aller Verfahren für industrienahe Produktionsbedingungen ist dabei ein wichtiger Schwerpunkt unserer Arbeit.

PVD-Beschichtungen

  • Korrosionsschutz-, Hartstoffschichten für die Automobilindustrie
  • Korrosionsschutzschichten für Nietelemente zur Mischbauweise in der Automobil- und Schienenfahrzeugbranche [ PDF ]
  • Thermische Barriereschichten für Turbinenschaufeln
  • Sonnenschutzfolien für die Fahrzeugverglasung
  • Reibungsarme und abriebbeständige Hartstoffschichten für Motoren-Bauteile
  • Blauspiegel für automobile Außenverglasung

Elektronenstrahlbearbeitung

  • Schweißen von Getriebeschalträdern, Turboladewellen, Gehäusebaugruppen etc. (Strahltechnologie Dresden GmbH)
  • Härten von Lacken, Nockenwellen, Getriebeschalt-Baugruppen
  • Modifikation von Kunststoffen

Reinigung

  • Plasmareinigung
  • Nasschemische Reinigung [ PDF ]
  • Beratung bei der Bauteilreinigung [ PDF ]