LAOLA – Large-area OLED lighting applications on thin flexible substrates

The project aims to develop large-area lighting applications with organic light emitting diodes (OLED) on flexible substrates. The focus is on ultra-thin glass, which offers advantages over plastic as a substrate due to its excellent barrier properties. For roll-to-roll manufacturing, a qualified substrate winding processes must be integrated into the coating system first. As a further challenge, laser cutting and structuring processes are being developed for substrate separation and interconnection. In addition, efficient protective coatings are being used for the OLEDs as well as transparent electrical contacts that add value to the lighting market. As a result, demonstrators are being developed to demonstrate the performance of the technology. A part of the technologies is being researched in cooperation with partners from the partner cluster in Yonezawa, Japan. The collaborative project is coordinated by Organic Electronics Saxony (OES).

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

This impressive flexible OLED is one of the latest OLED processed in roll-to-roll technology within the public-funded joint project LAOLA. The OLED fascinates by a particularly homogeneous light and represents the very successful work of all partners within LAOLA!

 

Facts and figures

 

OLED substrate: ultra-thin glass (50 µm) by Nippon Electric Glass, Japan

Encapsulation: stainless steel foil (30 µm) by NIPPON STEEL Chemical & Material Co., Ltd., Japan

Emissive area: 200 × 85 mm

Singulation: by Mitsuboshi Diamond Industrial Co. Ltd., Japan

Processed: in vacuum roll-to-roll technology by Fraunhofer FEP, Germany

Structuring: by Yamagata University, Japan

 

Funded partners

  • Fraunhofer-Institut für Organische Elektronik, Elektronenstrahl- und Plasmatechnik FEP
  • FHR Anlagenbau GmbH
  • CREAVAC-Creative Vakuumbeschichtung GmbH
  • WOLFRAM Design/Engineering
  • Heliatek GmbH
  • Organic Electronics Saxony Management GmbH

Connected and associated partners

  • 3D-Micromac AG
  • CreaPhys GmbH
  • tesa SE
  • Osram OLED GmbH

Project coordinator

Organic Electronics Saxony (OES)
Würzburger Straße 51, 01187 Dresden

Funded by:
Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung
Funding reference: 03INT509AF
Duration:
  01.08.2018 - 31.07.2021

LAOLA – Großflächige OLED Beleuchtungsanwendungen auf dünnen flexiblen Substraten

#

Im Projekt sollen großflächige Beleuchtungsanwendungen mit Organischen Leuchtdioden (OLEDs) auf flexiblen Substraten entwickelt werden. Im Fokus steht dabei Dünnstglas, das durch seine hervorragenden Barriereeigenschaften Vorteile gegenüber Kunststoff als Substrat bietet. Für die Herstellung im Rolle-zu-Rolle-Verfahren müssen zunächst die Wicklungsprozesse des Substrats durch die Beschichtungsanlage integriert werden. Als weitere Herausforderung werden Laserschneid- und Strukturierungsprozesse erarbeitet für die Substratvereinzelung und Verschaltung. Zusätzlich wird an effizienten Schutzschichten für die OLEDs sowie transparenten elektrischen Kontakten gearbeitet, die einen Mehrwert im Beleuchtungsmarkt darstellen. Im Ergebnis werden Demonstratoren entwickelt, die die Leistungsfähigkeit der Technologie verdeutlichen. Ein Teil der Technologien wird in Zusammenarbeit mit Kooperationspartnern aus dem Partnercluster in Yonezawa, Japan erforscht. Das gesamte Vorhaben wird durch Organic Electronics Saxony (OES) koordiniert.

 

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Diese beeindruckende flexible OLED ist eine der neuesten OLED, die im Rahmen des öffentlich geförderten Verbundprojekts LAOLA in Rolle-zu-Rolle-Technologie prozessiert wurde. Die OLED besticht durch ein besonders homogenes Licht und repräsentiert die sehr erfolgreiche Arbeit aller Partner innerhalb von LAOLA!

 

Zahlen und Fakten

 

OLED Substrat: Ultradünnglass (50 µm) von Nippon Electric Glass, Japan

Verkapselung: Edelstahlfolie (30 µm) von NIPPON STEEL Chemical & Material Co., Ltd., Japan

Emittierende Fläche: 200 × 85 mm

Vereinzelung: Mitsuboshi Diamond Industrial Co. Ltd., Japan

Prozessierung: mittels Vakuum in Rolle-zu-Rolle Technologie von Fraunhofer FEP, Deutschland

Strukturierung: Yamagata University, Japan

 

#

Geförderte Partner#

  • Fraunhofer-Institut für Organische Elektronik, Elektronenstrahl- und Plasmatechnik FEP
  • FHR Anlagenbau GmbH
  • CREAVAC-Creative Vakuumbeschichtung GmbH
  • WOLFRAM Design/Engineering
  • Heliatek GmbH
  • Organic Electronics Saxony Management GmbH

Verbundene und assoziierte Partner#

  • 3D-Micromac AG
  • CreaPhys GmbH
  • tesa SE
  • Osram OLED GmbH

Projektkoordinator#

Organic Electronics Saxony (OES)
Würzburger Straße 51, 01187 Dresden

Fördergeber: Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung
Förderkennzeichen:
03INT509AF
Laufzeit:
01.08.2018 bis 31.07.2021